Reports & Articles

Terrestrial Ecosystem Mapping (TEM)

This project synthesizes results of bioterrain and terrestrial ecosystem mapping of the CDFmm biogeoclimatic subzone. The CDFmm occurs in south eastern BC, covering ecosystems along the eastern coastline of Vancouver Island, the southern Gulf Islands, parts of the Sunshine Coast and a portion of the Fraser Valley. On Vancouver Island, Deep Bay marks the northern extent of the CDFmm; Metchosin marks the southern boundary. From Deep Bay moving south, the subzone extends along the Strait of Georgia from sea level to an approximate elevation of 150m above sea level (asl) and includes the major centres of Nanaimo, Duncan and Victoria. The CDFmm covers or partially covers all of the Gulf Islands south of Cortes Island; including: Texada, Hornby, Denman, Lasqueti, Gabriola Galiano, Thetis, Kuper, Saltspring, North Pender, South Pender, Mayne, Saturna, Sidney and several smaller islets in between. Across the Strait of Georgia, the CDFmm covers portions of Lund, Powell River, Sechelt and the Fraser Valley for a total area of approximately 252,000 hectares. 


Digital maps will aid interpretation for resource management and land use planning; identified wildlife habitat capability and suitability; and to collate a comprehensive baseline data set of attributes of interest for the CDFmm. A seamless database of polygon attributes and the associated bioterrain and ecosystem data, as well as other features and parameters of interest accompanies this legend. Mapping was completed following the methods outlined in Standard for Terrestrial Ecosystem Mapping in British Columbia1. Field work was completed in 2007 and 2008 at a modified survey intensity level 5.


Terrestrial Ecosystem Mapping Legend (pdf) 


The full report and expanded mapping legend can be downloaded at


A TEM Report for the Howe Sound islands is available at